SSC CHSL Syllabus 2019-20: Check Complete Syllabus Here

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) Examination in three Tiers namely Tier-1, Tier-2, and Tier-3. While SSC CHSL Tier-1 is conducted in Online Mode on the other hand Tier-2 is conducted in Pen and Paper mode and Tier-3 is Computer Skill Test. It is very important for candidates to know SSC CHSL Syllabus 2019-20 to prepare well. All candidates must stay updated about the latest changes in SSC CHSL syllabus and exam pattern to prepare thoroughly for SSC CHSL 2019.


SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2019-20: Tiers of Exam

SSC CHSL Comprises of three Tiers. Exam Pattern of SSC CHSL is explained below:

Tiers Type of Examination Mode of examination
Tier-1 Objective Multiple Choice CBT (Online)
Tier-2 Descriptive Paper in Hindi/ English Pen and Paper Mode
Tier-3 Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test Wherever Applicable

Click here to check full SSC CHSL Exam Pattern

SSC CHSL Syllabus 2019-20: Tier-1

SSC CHSL Ties-1 comprises 100 questions in total with maximum marks of 200. SSC CHSL Tier-1 is of 60 minutes. SSC CHSL Tier-I is divided into four sections with 25 question each and maximum marks of 50. All candidates must stay updated about the latest changes in SSC CHSL syllabus and exam pattern to prepare thoroughly for SSC CHSL 2019.

The sections asked in SSC CHSL Tier-I Exam are:

  • General Knowledge
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • General Reasoning
  • English Comprehension

The Topic-wise Syllabus of Tier-1 is given in Table below:

General Intelligence and Reasoning General Awareness Quantitative Aptitude English Comprehension
Classification Static General Knowledge Simplification Reading Comprehension
Analogy Science Interest Cloze Test
Coding-Decoding Current Affairs Averages Spellings
Paper Folding Method Sports Percentage Phrases and Idioms
Matrix Books and Authors Ratio and Proportion One word Substitution
Word Formation Important Schemes Problem on Ages Sentence Correction
Venn Diagram Portfolios Speed, Distance and Time Error Spotting
Direction and Distance People in News Number System Fill in the Blanks
Blood Relations History Mensuration Para Jumbles
Series Culture Data Interpretation Active/Passive
Verbal reasoning Geography Time and Work Narrations
Non-Verbal Reasoning Economic Algebra  
Seating Arrangement Awards and Honors Trigonometry  
Puzzle   Geometry  


SSC CHSL Syllabus: Tier II

As mentioned above, this paper requires candidates to write an essay and Letter/Application that tests the writing skills of the candidates. The essay topics will be related to National Interest, Finance & Economy, Ecological Issues, Social Issues, Politics, Schemes & Governance, Technology, Sports, Geopolitics, Environmental Concerns etc. While, the type of letter/ application asked will be Complaint, Suggestion, Application, Official Appreciation, Follow up or Feedback etc. Candidates have to score 33 marks (33 marks) to qualify the SSC CHSL Tier-2 Exam. It is both qualifying and scoring.

Check SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2019-20

SSC CHSL Syllabus: Tier III

Tier-III of SSC CHSL 2019 will be a Skill/ Typing Test which would be of a qualifying nature. The final merit of the selected candidates will be based on the basis of total score obtained in Tier-I and Tier-II.

Candidates have to do well in all the Tiers i.e., Tier-1 and Tier-2 and Tier-3 of SSC CHSL to get the desired post and location.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *